Posted in blog

Summertime Blues

Lately it seems depression has reared its ugly head for many people. Some choose not to wallow in it and some can’t help but let it run its course. Kinda like a flu. So, I wondered if maybe the summer season was contributing to it. I did a little research and come to find out that 10% of the U. S. population gets SAD (seasonal affective disorder) in the summer. It usually affects us during the winter because of shorter days and cold weather.

I found that there were possible reasons that we may become depressed in the summer.  One of the reasons is stress. Aren’t we suppose to be having a good time? For many of us that’s not the case. Due to the increasing heat and humidity we tend to stay indoors. Kinda like we’d do during the winter. I don’t know about anyone else but Texas has one season, Summer! Or it seems that way especially for the southern Texans. Although, fall and winter seems to be our favorite time of the year because it has finally gotten a little cooler. I don’t remember the last time I actually wore a coat. Long sleeves, yeah, but an actual coat.

Another reason: if you’ve got children in school you’re suddenly faced with having to keep them occupied. The change of routines can disrupt even the most put together person. Vacations can do that as well.

Body issues can play a role in our depression. As it gets warmer,  we’re wearing less and it can make us (me) self-conscience. We (I) start to feel awkward and will avoid any events that have to do with pools or beaches. We (I) keep saying “this is the month I work out and get in shape” every month. Or “this Monday I will start my diet” and end up forgetting said diet and eat everything in sight!

During the summer we want to have fun and be able to have the summer to remember. But if your financially strapped it can be difficult then we get SAD because we see our friends or families having these fun vacations while we’re at home trying to hold it all together and keeping your kids entertained and keeping them from beating each other up! Sometimes we can’t leave our jobs or prior engagements to go on vacations or spend the summer with family and/or friends.

Summers used to be my favorite time of the year but as I’ve gotten older Fall has become my favorite. I can’t stand the heat as much as I used to. My boys get hot very easily. You’d think they’d be acclimated to our type of environment being Texans and all but nope they need to be cool. Not an exaggeration, I promise.

All in all don’t beat yourself up if you can’t have the “summer to remember”. Try to make the best of it. For us, just goin’ to the creek or goin’ fishin’ is nice. Water guns, sprinklers, and bubbles are also my boys favorite even though they have to go out later in the evening or early in the morning. If we have to stay indoors we (they) play video games, put puzzles together, draw, color, make playdough. Their (our) favorite things to do is science experiments. I love their reactions and excitement when something neat or “cool” happens.

You don’t have to have an extravagant vacation or a bunch of things to do to keep happy. The little things is what they remember. I hope y’all have an awesome rest of the summer. For us it’s only gonna get hotter. So off to pinterest I go to find some neat science experiments and things to do!

Until next time…

I don’t know how to put YouTube in my blogs so if anyone wants to help me figure that out I’d be grateful! But here’s a song to end my blog: Summertime Blues

 

 

Author:

Mom | Wife| Writer/Blogger| Photographer | Student Hey y'all! I started this blog as a way to express myself and be creative. I really have no idea what I'm doing😞 I hope to have a better idea soon. I'm a student studying fine arts and creative writing. I love photography and I like putting short stories to pictures. I may also blog about personal schtuff! Just trying to get the hang of putting endless thoughts into understandable words. I'm a homeschooling mom of boys and wife to a retired combat veteran and within my writings you will find a little bit of everything. I'll share my thoughts and opinions, maybe some read worthy rants and recipes! So if you'd like to read about my random rambles grab your favorite liquid or snack, kick off your shoes (safely), have a seat and enjoy!

One thought on “Summertime Blues

  1. This is very uplifting, thank you!

    re: YouTube, there’s an embed code for your video (you should see it next to your share link) and you just copy and paste it into your blog post. 😊

    Blessings! Good to connect

    Like

Leave a Reply

