Posted in blog, Daily Prompt

Nightmare

Daily Post

Nightmares and Dreams
What do they mean? 
Horrifying nightmares that make you wake up screaming and out of breath.
Fantasy dreams of unrealistic happiness.
Dreams you don’t remember once you’ve woken up. 
I’ve often had those types of dreams and nightmares. I think my anxiety has a lot to do with them. When I go to bed really stressed out I tend to have bad dreams and then forget it as soon as I wake up. Sometimes my nightmares seem almost real because I can physically feel what’s happening. Sometimes when I read of things that have happened they become my nightmare. 

I still remember a bad dream I had as a teen. In my nightmare it was a dark, country road only lit by few dull yellow streetlights. I was running as fast as I could from someone. I tried to see who I was running from and as I did the someone shot me in my chest and I woke up, breathing heavily as I was clutching my chest because it felt so real. It was a pain and such a feeling that I can’t describe.  My screams had woken my dad and he came in almost tearing down the door. I told him about the dream. He was shocked to think that anything like that could happen to his daughter.

When I was a little kid I used to have nightmares of snakes eating my little brother. And spiders attacking me. But I have no real life fear of them.

Nightmares happen all around us. Just check the news. It’s like something you can’t wake from. No matter how hard you try to ignore it. We don’t even have to go to sleep to have a nightmare. We basically live it.

What are your nightmares? What do you fear?

Author:

Mom | Wife| Writer/Blogger| Photographer | Student Hey y'all! I started this blog as a way to express myself and be creative. I really have no idea what I'm doing😞 I hope to have a better idea soon. I'm a student studying fine arts and creative writing. I love photography and I like putting short stories to pictures. I may also blog about personal schtuff! Just trying to get the hang of putting endless thoughts into understandable words. I'm a homeschooling mom of boys and wife to a retired combat veteran and within my writings you will find a little bit of everything. I'll share my thoughts and opinions, maybe some read worthy rants and recipes! So if you'd like to read about my random rambles grab your favorite liquid or snack, kick off your shoes (safely), have a seat and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Nightmare

  1. I haven’t had nightmares since high school now, but I still remember them. I am terrified of snakes and the nightmares would always be a snake glaring at me for a while and then suddenly lunging at me mouth open. I would always wake up right before it hit.

    If you remember Snape’s death from the Deathly Hallows, that part of the book and movie scared the hell out of me. It reminded me so much of my nightmares.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

