Posted in blog, Daily Prompt

Layers

I was running through the reader and spotted this daily prompt. The first thing that popped in my head was the layers of emotions. I am not very good with emotions. I don’t know how to handle them. When an adult is crying I have no idea what to do or say. I’m not a touchy feely person. I have a bubble. Don’t pop my bubble! Sorry kiddos momma can only handle so much daily huggin! High fives are what we mostly do but I do hug my kiddos, just so ya know! I’m not totally mean!

You know how sometimes in some families boys are told to suck it up and walk it off? Well, I was the daughter in that. It was a sign of weakness in my family if you cried or couldn’t handle a situation without your emotions. Now, angry emotions were okay. We can show angry anytime as long as weren’t physical. I take after my dad in that. I guess it goes with him having to basically grow up fast. He lost his father to a heart attack when he was 13 and he had 7 other brothers and sisters so his mom needed all the help she could get. My mom is the emotional one. When she cries I want to run the other way. I don’t know how to handle it. My dad tries to stay away too. So, I can see where I get my attitude with emotions.

I feel that crying won’t make it better. I feel that crying just makes you feel worse. If I need to cry, I cry alone. I don’t want anyone to see my “weakness”. Usually when you see me cry they are tears of I’m so pissed off that you might want to run! I probably sound insensitive and I’m sorry, I really am. I just don’t know how to handle them.

When it comes to my children, that’s a whole other ballgame. I am more empathetic towards children than I am with adults. Adults can take care of themselves whereas children need guidance. Although there are some adults that still need a forward assist (military jargon).

There are many other emotions I go through on a daily basis but I keep to myself. I feel that I burden people when I talk about them. I feel that they feel that they’re obligated to do something or “fix-it”. That doesn’t mean I’m not a good listener. I will listen til my ears fall off. I love a good talk even if there are tears. Just to warn ya though that I may not be the person you’re looking for to help you feel better other to vent.

Please don’t bash me.

Daily Prompt

pic credit

 

Author:

Mom | Wife| Writer/Blogger| Photographer | Student Hey y'all! I started this blog as a way to express myself and be creative. I really have no idea what I'm doing😞 I hope to have a better idea soon. I'm a student studying fine arts and creative writing. I love photography and I like putting short stories to pictures. I may also blog about personal schtuff! Just trying to get the hang of putting endless thoughts into understandable words. I'm a homeschooling mom of boys and wife to a retired combat veteran and within my writings you will find a little bit of everything. I'll share my thoughts and opinions, maybe some read worthy rants and recipes! So if you'd like to read about my random rambles grab your favorite liquid or snack, kick off your shoes (safely), have a seat and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Layers

  1. Great post!I love your transparency. At least you know who you are and why you are that way. There’s nothing wrong with someone who isn’t touchy feely. I learned to be touchy Feely in my 20s when I became an elementary school teacher. ..lol.😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

