Posted in blog

In My Opinion

So on my search of freelance work, I  stumbled upon an article about a mommy blogger who quit her blogging because she started to feel guilty that most of her stuff was fake. She deleted her blog.

Look, parents, we’re not perfect and anyone who says they have “well behaved kids” and a “perfect marriage” and go on to tell you “how to have those”, well I say practice what you preach!

Sometimes I wonder if those that give advice are actually utilizing them themselves? Or wish they could implement the advice in their own lives.

I don’t know maybe I’m being cynical. You’re probably shaking your head yes! That’s ok. I don’t get offended easily.

Do what you wish with your blog but feel good about it. Do something that makes you want to keep doing it without feeling guilty or fake.

It’s one of the reasons I blog on various topics. I’m not a “niche” sorta person.

And as much as I love my kiddos, they’re a huge part of my life, I don’t want that to be the only thing I talk or write about.

I  believe we all kind of know how kids are, especially our own, and we as parents are the only ones that know how to handle their behavior.

I don’t need a book to tell me how to raise my ornery boys, thank you very much!

I feel as though those books are saying you’re doing it wrong and that they’re way is the right way!
I do feel bad for that mommy blogger though because as I am becoming more aware of the bloggin “wars” there is a lot of “I need more views and subscribers”.  And I’m also aware that the bigger your platform is and what you write about the better chance of getting hired or noticed.
I didn’t make this blog to get views or subscribers and those that have subscribed to my blog I say THANK YOU! I’m glad you are here! And I welcome any feedback from ya.
I’m not a braggart and I’m not prideful nor will I boast. I’m thankful for this outlet. I’ve learned much and I’ll continue to learn.
Well I’m off to do some adulting
Until next time…
the image from imgflip
Author:

Mom | Wife| Writer/Blogger| Photographer | Student Hey y'all! I started this blog as a way to express myself and be creative. I really have no idea what I'm doing😞 I hope to have a better idea soon. I'm a student studying fine arts and creative writing. I love photography and I like putting short stories to pictures. I may also blog about personal schtuff! Just trying to get the hang of putting endless thoughts into understandable words. I'm a homeschooling mom of boys and wife to a retired combat veteran and within my writings you will find a little bit of everything. I'll share my thoughts and opinions, maybe some read worthy rants and recipes! So if you'd like to read about my random rambles grab your favorite liquid or snack, kick off your shoes (safely), have a seat and enjoy!

12 thoughts on “In My Opinion

  1. I think many writers, particularly new ones, tend to believe they are fake and it won’t be long before all is revealed to the world. Perhaps there is more to the story than we know when someone closes up shop. I wish the mommy blogger well. I am 62 y/o and have discovered, to my dismay, there’s very little I can control in life. My kids when they were babies and young but when they reached adulthood – their choices were out of my hands. Sure, I advised but it went in one ear and out the other. Not much different from when my mother was advising me. Life doesn’t present us with a how-to manual. We learn as we go. Sometimes great things happen and sometimes it all turns to shit. That’s life, plain and simple. I do think, however, some feel pressure to be politically correct rather than authentic in their posts for fear of backlash. I say be who you are, write for the reason you write, be authentic and if it concerns you – add a disclaimer. “The content of this blog is …” Thanks for sharing this thought provoking post. @sheilamgood at Cow Pasture Chronicles

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

