Posted in blog

22 a day is 22 too many

 

FB_IMG_1462273007915

These past 8 months my husband has lost several battle buddies to suicide. He takes the news extremely hard. These are the guys he’s been in front lines of war with.  Fought alongside each other. Saved each other’s lives. Came home together. Only to lose them to suicide. 

FB_IMG_1462272964133
Soldiers come home not knowing how to integrate back into the norm. Back to family life after they’ve faced death on a daily basis. Back from the everyday adrenaline that kept them alert and alive. They feel shunned by those that don’t want to understand or getting the “just get over it”. It gets worse when they have no support. They end up homeless or worse looking into the barrel of a gun.

FB_IMG_1462273134020
Marriages fall apart because their spouse has come back a different person. They are a shell of the person who hasn’t left war. The battle continues to play over and over in their heads. They’ve seen and done things that would make others shutter. They, at times, feel ashamed. They live with survivors guilt. They have lost battle buddies right there beside them during fire fights and ied’s. Ones they call brothers. Who’ve become closer to them than family. The only ones who truly understand what each is going through without saying a word. 

FB_IMG_1462273272552
Check in with your battle buddies. They may be going through the same thing and need support from the only family that understands.

 

Author:

Mom | Wife| Writer/Blogger| Photographer | Student Hey y'all! I started this blog as a way to express myself and be creative. I really have no idea what I'm doing😞 I hope to have a better idea soon. I'm a student studying fine arts and creative writing. I love photography and I like putting short stories to pictures. I may also blog about personal schtuff! Just trying to get the hang of putting endless thoughts into understandable words. I'm a homeschooling mom of boys and wife to a retired combat veteran and within my writings you will find a little bit of everything. I'll share my thoughts and opinions, maybe some read worthy rants and recipes! So if you'd like to read about my random rambles grab your favorite liquid or snack, kick off your shoes (safely), have a seat and enjoy!

7 thoughts on “22 a day is 22 too many

  1. I hope that what I see is reality. Many more are sharing what the proper treatments have done for them and others are seeking treatment for themselves. I have shared the great things I have gotten out of counseling and other treatments with others and they have started going for themselves. There are many options out there the hardest part is getting those on the edge to seek it out. It was about 2 years agone when I was literally standing on the edge…. as bad as it can still be some days I am glad I did not jump. Excellent writing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I try to get as much word as I can. I’ve been studying PTSD and TBI for almost 10 years and I still learn something new. I’ve been observant of my husband’s moods and sometimes he doesn’t know why he’s in a crappy mood. I make as much accommodation as I can to help ease hos day or days sometimes weeks. I tey to be as supportive as much as I can. I’m so glad you chose to still be here and helping others who are struggling as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Not one veteran who returns home alive should ever feel that they are alone. Sadly, however many do as many civilians can’t relate to their experiences as they try to transition into a life they once knew. Our communities need to rally behind every single Soldier, Marine, Airmen and Sailor who has served this nation honorably!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

