Posted in Uncategorized

Crochet is my happy place

12465937_945035675584434_2249017876393237762_o

I was going through a tough time in my life a few years ago and I needed an outlet. I’m and introvert so my outlet is anything I can do by myself. I tried knitting but I just couldn’t get the hang of it of making more than a scarf. One day I found a crochet hook in a cubby drawer of my couch. I have no idea where it came from and I had no idea it was a crochet hook. I’m not sure if it came in my “learn to knit” kit or what. So I looked it up and found out it was a crochet hook then I found some youtube channels and started teaching myself to crochet. My friends tell me that I just went off with it! It quickly became a favorite pastime. It made me very happy!

The tough time I’m referring to would be the time my husband was transitioning from the military to the civilian life. It was very hard for him. For a lot of soldiers it is their home, their brotherhood, and job that the military takes from them when they make them get out because of injuries they’ve sustained while deployed. My husband lost a few very close friends while they were deployed. One was like a brother to him. He goes to a memorial every year on the anniversary that we as military wives refer to as crapiversary. He has gotten better over the years with the acceptance that he lost his brother and best friend. Here in the civilian life it’s hard for them to transition because they no longer have that brotherhood that they can count on or job they loved. My husband was tanker the mos (military occupational specialty) 19K. He loved it so much. It’s also been extremely hard as a veteran to find a job. He has been searching a really long time now. He mostly gets the answer that he’s over qualified for the job. He does get VA benefits so that helps. We have to tightly budget but I am very fortunate to be able to stay home with my kiddos. I homeschool our 8 year old and my 3 year old and 1 year old are learning with play time.

We have been dreaming of going on the road to “get away from it all” and travel. I believe it would be a great opportunity for his healing as well. We have an idea of what we’re looking for in an RV but haven’t decided on what yet. We’ll be going to an RV expo next week that we’re excited about. We’ll be sure to take some pictures.

Well, I need to get off here and tend to my kiddos. Until next time…

P.S. here is link to my other projects if you’d like to see them My Happy Place

 

Author:

Mom | Wife| Writer/Blogger| Photographer | Student Hey y'all! I started this blog as a way to express myself and be creative. I really have no idea what I'm doing😞 I hope to have a better idea soon. I'm a student studying fine arts and creative writing. I love photography and I like putting short stories to pictures. I may also blog about personal schtuff! Just trying to get the hang of putting endless thoughts into understandable words. I'm a homeschooling mom of boys and wife to a retired combat veteran and within my writings you will find a little bit of everything. I'll share my thoughts and opinions, maybe some read worthy rants and recipes! So if you'd like to read about my random rambles grab your favorite liquid or snack, kick off your shoes (safely), have a seat and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

